Amharic (or አማርኛ, pronounced [ɑːmˈhɑrɪk]) is a Semitic language spoken in Ethiopia. It is the second-most spoken Semitic language in the world, after Arabic, and the official working language of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. It is written left-to-right using the Amharic script which is an abugida – each character of the alphabet represents a consonant+vowel sequence. Writing system: Ge’ez (Amharic alphabet) Official language in: Ethiopia and the following specific regions: Addis Ababa City Council, Amhara Region, Benishangul-Gumuz Region, Dire Dawa Administrative council, Gambela Region, SNNPR

Capital city:
Addis Ababa

Birr (ETB)

Dialing code:


Addis Ababa Time is:

Our native speakers of Amharic:

Choose the
language you need

Call us in Austria
+43 699 190 78 778
+43 699 190 77 878

Call us in the UK
+44 870 4908055
+44 7748 400873
Call us in Australia
+61 481 330 841
+61 468 317 436
Call us in Singapore
Toll free
800 492 2337
© ASAP Studio 2004 - 2024. All rights reserved
Terms of Service